About

Who We Are

Welcome to the Ottawa Administrators of Volunteer Resources (OAVR).  OAVR is an Ottawa-based association open to anyone in the field of volunteer management.

We’re affiliated with the Professional Association of Volunteer Leaders –  Ontario (PAVRO) and are a Community Partner with Volunteer Ottawa.

This site is intended to be used as a resource for members and potential members. We welcome your comments and questions at chair@oavr.ca

Our Mandate

  • To promote professionalism in volunteer resources management
  • To support our members in the pursuit of their goals as managers of volunteers
  • To provide a forum to share information and resources
  • To network with peers

Our Goals

  • To exchange ideas and resources
  • To share information and concerns
  • To network with peers
  • To offer support and encouragement to our members
  • To liaise with organizations involved with volunteers
  • To promote professionalism and the highest standards of practice among our members
  • To assist our members with their professional development

Information on becoming a member.

 

OAVR Board Members for 2021

Chair: Alexandria White, Ottawa Community Housing
chair@oavr.ca

Vice-Chair, PAVRO Liaison, Program Support: Adam James, Christie Lake Kids
vicechair@oavr.ca

Secretary: Jena Davarajah, Compassionate Ottawa
secretary@oavr.ca

Treasurer: Atoosa Adnani, World Skills Employment Centre
treasurer@oavr.ca

Membership and Engagement: Adam James, Christie Lake Kids
membership@oavr.ca

Newsletter: Carissa Harkins, Volunteer Ottawa
newsletter@oavr.ca

Web Master: Andrew McEwen, Web Orange – Fresh Media Solutions
webmaster@oavr.ca

Programming: Jill Daigle, Meals on Wheels/ La Popote roulante
Jo-Anne Turple, Ottawa Food Bank
program@oavr.ca

Member-at-Large: Angela Begin, Ottawa Community Housing
memberatlarge@oavr.ca

Past Chair: Denise Hawken, The Ottawa Hospital
pastchair@oavr.ca

Past Chair: Ulyana Osorio, The Ottawa Hospital
pastchair@oavr.ca